It’s Your Choice

Standard

God is so cool! Recently I saw something that was a clear picture of how He covers us and protects us. It took me to Psalm 91.

“Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
This I declare about the Lord:
He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;
he is my God, and I trust him.
For he will rescue you from every trap
and protect you from deadly disease.
He will cover you with his feathers.
He will shelter you with his wings.
His faithful promises are your armor and protection.”
Psalm 91:1-4

We choose where we live in the natural…we also choose where we live in the spiritual. When we choose wisely where we live, His faithful promises have to follow us and take up residence in our lives.

It is our choice whether or not to live in the shelter of the Most High God! In His shelter there is provision and blessing and great peace. Look at just a few of the awesome benefits of choosing to live in His shelter.

1. We find rest.

Do you find yourself exhausted by life and stress? Choose to live in His shelter and you will find His rest. His rest refreshes our spirits, our minds and our bodies.

“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29

He will give us sweet rest if we just position ourselves to receive.

2. He is our refuge.

A refuge is a place of safety…shelter…and protection.
He is my God…my place of safety as I choose to hide in Him.
He is my God…my shelter right in the midst of the storms of life as I choose to hide in Him.
He is my God…my protection from those things targeted at harming me physically, mentally, emotionally or spiritually as I choose to hide in Him.

He is our great refuge if we choose to hide in Him…as we trust Him!

3. He is our rescuer.

He actually rescues us from every trap. There are so many traps: some hidden and some right out in the open. Some traps are set by the enemy. Some traps are are just a part of this fallen world. Sometimes traps are put in place by the very choices we make. The thing to realize is that every trap is there to ensnare and enslave us and to keep us from God and His purposes and plans for us…and ultimately to completely destroy us.

We MUST learn to live in His shelter because it is when we are in His shelter…that place of refuge…that He can rescue us from EVERY trap!

God uses nature to teach us so many spiritual truths in ways that we can see and understand. Just as this bird covers those babies with her feathers and shelters them under her wings that is the exactly what our God does for us. What an amazing picture! Notice that those babies are not fighting being sheltered and protected. They know that is the very best place for them to be. They are choosing the shelter…the refuge.

20120331-110929.jpg

That is what we must do…CHOOSE to live in Him and when we choose to live in Him the benefits are rest and refuge and rescue. We will be living right dab in the middle of His faithful promises of armor and protection: Secure in Him…covered by His feathers…under His wings.

I choose to live in Him!

Seeking His Heart,

Cheri

Leave a Reply

