Worthless or Beneficial?

Standard

What we say has amazing power … the power of life or death.  Our words affect us and allEphesians-4-29 those in our lives.  Even those we bump into along the way.  And many times we just let our words go with no thought and no filter.  They come from what we feel or our situation or our pain.

This is on my heart and mind as a result of a new discipline I’m working at putting in my life.  I’m asking God to speak one Word to me each month that I will commit to study and memorize and meditate and pray over  asking Him to grow me and change me in the truth of that Word.

This month the Word is…

“Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk EVER come out of your mouth, but only such speech as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace … God’s favor to those who hear it.”  Ephesians 4:29

So, it is cleansing time!  Time to make some changes!  And those changes start in the heart.

Notice we are to let NO foul language … NO polluting language … NO evil word … NO unwholesome take … NO worthless talk EVER to come out of our mouth.  NEVER!  EVER!

Wow!  I need the Holy Spirit to shine His light on my words.  To show me the language that needs to change in me because I know that there are words and language coming from me that fall in these areas … things that should NEVER, EVER come out of my mouth.

ONLY speak what is good … what is beneficial to the spiritual progress of others … what is fitting to the need … what fits the occasion … words that bless … words that give grace to others … the favor of God to those who hear.

Now I’m not a sailor mouth!  But I know that all my words are not good and beneficial and fitting.  They are not always words of grace and God’s favor.

God help me to put a filter on my mind and my heart and my mouth that the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart might be pleasing to you!  Help me to get to the place where every word is filtered through You and Your love … through Your Word.  I need your help!

Where does your words and language need changing?

Leave a Reply

