Time To Re-Establish

Standard

img_6828

Re-establish.  This is the word God gave me for 2017.  Why?  That is a loaded question.  It all started five years ago when the door we walked through, that we believed was a dream come true and a position clearly designed just for us.  We sold our home, gave away our horses, left family behind and uprooted from a place we had raised our family, had a ministry that still bears fruit today … a place that we spent about 20 years to pursue God’s purposes and plans.

And it was unraveling from the start.  We loved what we were doing but all too soon it became very obvious that there were deep rooted dysfunction and deteriorating health in the organization and leadership.  We kept being faithful thinking maybe God could use us to bring change but a short two and a half years later, we found ourselves unemployed and devastated.

Even in our pain, we chose to trust God, to trust his plan for us.  Then the jobs didn’t come and the savings dwindled away and we ended up moving in with our daughter and her family.  But we kept trusting … kept believing that God had a plan for us.

And five years later I found myself at the bottom.  I had pretty much given up on God and his plan and purpose for me … I had pretty much decided he was done with me.  And then the still small voice … “Cheri, it is TIME … time to re-establish yourself in me and in the truth of my Word”.  I realized that I had let disappointment crack my foundation in Christ.  Disappointment in God.  Disappointment in people.  Disappointment in the Church.  Disappointment in me.

img_0014

“After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.”                                      

I Kings 19:12

So, here I am.  Re-establishing myself in God … in the truths of his Word.  I love the Story of Joseph but being honest, HOW did he make it 40 years?  We see the end in one setting … he lived his story 40 years before seeing the purpose and what God had planned for him … what God was preparing him for.  I don’t see where He is taking me and the purpose that He is preparing me for but each day I’m choosing to trust … and each day I’m re-establishing myself in Him and in the truths of His Word.

And as I re-establish, I am planting myself in this truth … He began this good work in me and He will complete it.  He never gives up on me … or on you!

img_0016

Want to join me this year as I re-establish?  Maybe you need to do some re-establishing too?

About cherigarrett

A woman who seeks the heart of God in all things. Wife to an awesome husband(Jim) who is also her best friend and ministry partner...mom to 3 phenomenal kids and their spouses...Mimi/Gami to 15 amazing grandchildren. Jim & Cheri have spent their 40 years of marriage in ministry and that is God's purpose for them. Cheri ministers alongside Jim as well as in women's events, marriage and family conferences and minister's conferences. Her passion is to help people know who they are in Christ and walk in His purposes and plans.

Leave a Reply

